The Five Pillars of Emotional Intelligence

Using your Emotional Intelligence means paying attention to five main areas of competence, which I’m calling the Pillars of Emotional Intelligence. 

These are:

  • Self-awareness
  • Self-control 
  • Social skills
  • Empathy
  • Self-motivation. 

These five competencies are what is meant by Emotional Intelligence.Understanding them and developing them is yourself will help you improve your performance in many ways, but this isn’t just about that.

Perfecting the five skills enables you to be more in harmony with yourself, your values, ambitions and ideals. Emotional intelligence is the part of our inner landscape that dictates what sort of person we are, how others see us, and how well we get on with those around us, in all situations. 

Complete and Continue